The Imagination Station (Adventures in Odyssey)

Sarah@Snazzylads Life, Read It Leave a Comment

Adventures in Odyssey

If you never listened to an episode of Adventures in Odyssey on the radio growing up, you really missed out. Turning 30 on November 21, Adventures in Odyssey was first presented by Focus on the Family as a 30-minute radio broadcast adventure. We often listened to an episode on Saturday mornings growing up. The adventures help children learn important lessons on not being afraid, how to do the right thing, and many more valuable lessons. They now have over 700 episodes to listen to!

Out of this wonderful world of Odyssey comes a written chapter series aimed at children 7-12 years of age. Each adventure takes cousins Patrick and Beth on an adventure through time, where they not only learn a moral lesson but also learn historical facts along the way. First published in 2010, Voyage with the Vikings takes Patrick and Beth to Greenland, where they are able to meet Erik the Red and Leif Eriksson. This story also points out that though making the right choice is sometimes hard, it is still the right thing to do. (This title is free with Kindle Unlimited. Try it Free for 30 Days!)

Voyage with the Vikings

Book 20 in the series, Inferno in Tokyo, was released last month by Tyndale House Publishers. This story takes Patrick and Beth on a journey to Tokyo during the 1923 earthquake, tsunami, and fire than devastated that city.

Inferno in Tokyo

The great thing about this series is that you do not have to read it in order. Each book can stand alone, and you can choose stories based on your son’s current interests. From the Revolutionary War, to the days of the Vikings, to World War II, there is an adventure for everyone. Look for them in your local library or Buy Them today!

*Featured Image Source

Share this Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *